Valorant: How to Play Comp Guide

Valorant: How to Play Comp Guide
Curious how to become immortal?

Competitive is the ranked mode in Valorant. It is similar to unrated matches where both teams race to 13 wins. The only difference is when the game reaches a tie at 12-12, overtime is on a win-by-two basis.

How To Play Comp In Valorant

Unlocking ranked mode will require you to play 20 unrated matches. Here are some terms to help you get started:

Ranks: There are a total of 8 Ranks in Valorant you can climb up in Comp mode. From lowest to highest, these are:

  • Iron
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Immortal
  • Radiant

Queuing: To queue up in Compe, everyone in the party must be within two ranks. You can play solo, duo, trio, or 5-man.

Maps: There are seven maps in the game, chosen randomly. The Maps are:

  • Split
  • Haven
  • Ascent
  • Bind
  • Icebox
  • Breeze
  • Fracture

Point System: The game evaluates your performance in each competitive match. Winning gives you rank ratings (RR), while losing reduces RR. Similarly, penalties are strictly imposed on players violating the rules. Most common violations are AFK, sabotaging the game, or trashtalks.

Also be sure to read:

More on this topic:

Romeli, a creative Radiant, has spent her health points traversing across the realms of Middle Earth, Runeterra, and other dimensions spreading the advent of online games.
Gamer Since: 2003
Favorite Genre: MOBA
Currently Playing: Valorant, Genshin Impact, Fortnite
Top 3 Favorite Games:Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, Call of Duty: Black Ops III, The Sims 4: Get Together

More Top Stories